Moot Court Honors Program

Benjamin N. Cardozo Law School BMI National Moot Court Competition Teams

In 1984, the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law first hosted an Entertainment and Communications Law Moot Court Competition. The fourth competition, in 1987, marked the beginning of BMI's (Broadcast Music, Inc.) involvement and co-sponsorship of the competition. Since these early beginnings, the competition has grown to 30 teams. In addition, the competition has drawn top judges and lawyers to offer their insight to the competitors.

» Visit the competition website

In 2011, Thomas Bacon and Russell Kinsey were Quarterfinalists. In 2010, Mark Abellera and Katie Simpson-Jones were Quarterfinalists. In 2009, Andrew Cook and Justin Strane finished in First Place. In 2008, Wendy Bockelmann, Jennifer Eun, and Nicole Oyer finished in Second Place.

2013-2014 Entertainment & Communications Competition Teams

Team: Patrick D. Morris & Andrew B. Symns
Coach: Professor Ardath Hamann
Award: Octofinalists

2012-2013 Entertainment & Communications Competition Team

Team: Courtney C. Booth & Lisa M. Lozen
Coach: Professor Ardath A. Hamann

2011-2012 Entertainment & Communications Competition Team

Team: Danielle Ostrower & Christopher Scolire
Coach: Professor Ardath A. Hamann