The Center for Tax Law & Employee Benefits

Paul Faherty Tax Law Writing Competition

Congratulations to the 2013 Paul Faherty Winners

This is the fifth year in which the Center for Tax Law and Employee Benefits has sponsored the Paul Faherty Tax Law Writing Competition. James Lynch, one of our tax advisory board members, graciously funds this tax writing competition to honor Paul Faherty, former Center director. The grand prize is a $3,000 award, plus two honorable mention awards of $1,000. The scope of permissible topics for the writing competition is broad — a leading public policy issue, critique of a leading case or doctrine, comment on a statute or proposed statutory change, or comment on a common law tax doctrine.

For the past three years, the Center has announced the winners of the competitions at the Annual Institute on Tax Ethics of Tax Law Practice, which will take place on May 26. The Center would like to thank Paul Carman, of Chapman and Cutler LLP, a member of the Center's Tax Law Advisory Board, and adjunct professors Jeffrey Maine, of the University of Maine School of Law, and Cyndi Perez Trostin, of Glick & Trostin, who graded this year's submissions.

This year's winners are as follows:

Grand Prize

"A New Approach to the Tax Treatment of Litigation Expenses"
R. Kader Crawford, University of North Carolina School of Law

Honorable Mentions

"Dueling Professionals: The Debate Over the Need for an Accountant-Client Privilege"
Kerri Eble, University of Illinois College of Law

"Peeling Back the Label: Substance vs. Form in PPL v. Commissioner"
Isaac Wood, University of Virginia School of Law

Center Resources